Hey all!

This past month has been pretty crazy; after finishing up PT school apps, traveling back home and DJing various last-minute events around town, I’m finally reading to set sail on my first official SCRATCH DJ Academy cruise ship gig aboard the huge Oasis of the Seas! I cannot begin to explain how excited I am to start my new job! In case you missed my last post, I will be departing from Ft. Lauderdale, FL tomorrow afternoon and taking the first leg of my shift through the western caribbean, returning to port each Saturday until October 27th. Then I’ll be back in St. Louis/Cincinnati for a couple weeks and back out to Port Canaveral for the Freedom of the Seas on November 11th.

I am certain that this will be the most challenging string of shows I have ever played and know that I will be doing a lot of learning on the fly. In terms of music and crowd control, I feel fairly confident in my skills as I tend to thrive on playing many genres and reading the atmosphere of a venue. However, since I will be 1 of 2 DJs on the entire 5000+ guest ship, I will have to constantly push myself throughout the week to keep my sets fresh and interesting.

Conveniently, my friends at Digital DJ Tips just posted an article (written by fellow Scratch Academy DJ Ollie) talking about cruise ship DJing a week or so ago and gave me some great last minute insight to the gig. If you wanna get a better understanding of what my responsibilities are going to be and the challenges that come with being a cruise DJ, I recommend checking it out HERE. I think the biggest lesson to take away is that while this gig seems like a 24/7 party, it should really be treated as an job with fantastic perks rather than a vacation where I have to work. I really plan on honing my skills as an entertainer during this next month, and understand how crucial it is to remain professional during the entire stay.

Anyways, I am going to try and update as much as I can while aboard the ship, however, my access to internet is pretty limited. I will be able to post on here each Saturday for sure, so please look out for my updates then!

SEEYA FOOLS LATER!!!

Keeno